tur parque natural 01Eight towns within the Axarquía (Alcaucín, Canillas de Aceituno, Canillas de Albaida, Cómpeta, Frigiliana, Nerja, Salares and Sedella), together with four towns in Granada Province, form part of the Natural Park of the Sierra Tejeda-Almijara, an area of 40,000 hectares divided equally between málaga Province and Granada Province. The park is one of the most important mountain regions in south-eastern Andalucía, with 1,148 different plant species, 25% of which are native to this area, as well as many animal species, outstanding among them the Cabra Montés or Spanish Ibex. The presence of these attractions contained within a region where conservation of the natural environment is key, attract lovers of nature to its routes, especially the walking routes within the park.

But these mountains have many other uses, forestry and the resin collected during clearance and felling to improve the forest environment. In addition, apiculture is being encouraged, and more and more hives are being installed to produce the rich honey, characteristic of the Axarquía

With nature lovers in mind, as part of the drive to improve the appeal of Frigiliana as a destination for those to whom living in harmony with the environment is important in holiday planning, a booklet has been produced which gives details of eight routes based on Frigiliana, introducing the walker to the most interesting and striking points in the area.